Produit d’une intuition d’activiste, la mixtape de Makaya McCraven a réuni les astres les plus brillants du moment : Chicago et Londres. Comment expliquer cette rencontre de deux scènes si ce n’est dans la hype de chacune ?

Hôte des insulaires en leur terre, Makaya McCraven a été entouré de jeunes joyaux anglais (Joe Armon-Jones, Nubya Garcia, Theon Cross, Kamaal Williams, Emma Jean-Thackray) pour deux soirées de concert au TRC. Enregistrées, elles ont ensuite placé le batteur chicagoan dans la disposition qu’il préfère ces temps ci : sampler du live pour en faire un disque. Du matériau brut dont Makaya a extrait l’essence. Avec davantage de finesse dans la composition et des basses moins chargées, Where We Come From eût été un incontournable. Là on l’aime avec les défauts des qualités d’une scène fougueuse et énergique devant laquelle on se pâme sans réfléchir.

A la première écoute, l’extase, le nouvel eldorado. Puis le doute. Et, tout de même, de l’admiration et la nécessité de le juger selon les règles qu’il s’est lui-même fixées. Dans une interlude, un extrait d’une prise de parole de Makaya pendant le concert au TRC : « this is spontaneous composition, so we don’t know what’s going on ». Il appelle ça une exploration. Comme s’ils s’étaient rencontrés par hasard et qu’ils jouaient, comme ça, pour voir.

La magie n’est pas de tous les instants, mais guette par la serrure les prouesses naissantes. Makaya Mccraven ne navigue ni dans l’introspection du répertoire millimétré ni dans la revisitation improvisée des standards. Ses beats parlent à une génération biberonnée au Hip hop, à J Dilla et aux grosses basses et s’éloignent d’un énième hommage à l’age d’or du boum bap. Comme dans le Hip hop, les formes du jazz évoluent encore.

Vecteur de ces modulations, Makaya se classe dans la catégorie des spécimen rares à chaque époque – dont on sait aussi reconnaître l’empreinte. Il est ici entouré, entre autres, du superbe son sans bavures de Nubya Garcia au saxophone (« The Oracle »), de l’accompagnement éclairé et des solos enjoués de Joe Armon-Jones au Fender Rhodes (« Run ‘Dem ») et de la ferveur du tromboniste habitué au rôle du bassiste Theon Cross (« Ox Tales »). Le beat scientist a encore frappé.


Makaya McCraven, Where We Come From (International Anthem)

Concerts :

  • 13 Octobre, Summer Jazz at the Harris, Chicago, USA
  • 22 Octobre, BIRD, Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • 5/6 Novembre, New Morning, Paris, FR
  • 8 Novembre, YUCA, Cologne, Germany

Tenez-vous informé.e

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous à la newsletter de Qwest TV pour recevoir les dernières actualités et les bons plans !

* champs requis
Langue(s) *
  • Français
  • English

Parcourir des anciens numéros

Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | Avec le soutien du programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend

Makaya McCraven’s mixtape is the product of an activist’s intuition, bringing together the brightest stars of the time between Chicago and London. How do we explain this meeting of two cities’ scenes if not via the buzz around each?

Host to the locals on their turf, Makaya McCraven was surrounded by young English treasures (Joe Armon-Jones, Nubya Garcia, Theon Cross, Kamaal Williams, Emma Jean-Thackray) for two concerts at the TRC. Once recorded, they then placed the Chicago drummer in his current role of sampling live music to make a record. Makaya extracted the essence from the raw material. With more finesse in the composition and less loaded bass, “Where We Come From” would have been a must.

Here, we like it even with its faults; a passionate, energetic scene before which we swoon without thinking. When you first hear it, it’s bliss, the new Eldorado. Then there’s some doubt. But even so, there is admiration and the need to judge it according to the rules that it has set for itself. In an interlude, there is an excerpt from when Makaya takes the floor during the concert at the TRC – “This is spontaneous composition, so we don’t know what’s going on.” He calls that an exploration. It’s as if they had met by accident and were playing, just like that, to see how it would go.

The magic isn’t always there, but it’s waiting just outside the door for the developing talents. Makaya Mccraven does not navigate either in the introspection of the meticulous repertoire nor in the improvised revisiting of the standards. His beats speak to a generation raised on hip hop, J Dilla, and big basses and move away from yet another tribute to the golden age of boom bap. As with hip hop, jazz’s forms are still evolving.

A vehicle of these modulations, Makaya is a unique specimen in every era, whose mark we can also recognize. Here, he is surrounded, among others, by the superbly flawless sound of Nubya Garcia on saxophone (“The Oracle”), Joe Armon-Jones’s enlightened accompaniment and lively solos on Fender Rhodes (“Run ‘Dem”) and the enthusiasm of Theon Cross, the trombonist who is more often a bassist (“Ox Tales”). The beat scientist has struck again.


Makaya McCraven, Where We Come From (International anthem)

Concerts :

  • 13th October, Summer Jazz at the Harris, Chicago, USA
  • 22nd October, BIRD, Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • 5th/6th November, New Morning, Paris, France
  • 8th November, YUCA, Cologne, Germany

Keep abreast about the Qwest

Sign up below to the Qwest TV newsletter for the latest Qwest TV news and special discounts!

* indicates required
Language(s) *

Check out some previous newsletters

©2019 Qwest TV | FAQ, Report a Bug & Contact | Legal
Download Qwest TV on the AppStoreDownload Qwest TV on Google Play
Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Send this to a friend