Bien que le vétéran américain soit considéré comme l’un des principaux représentants d’ambiant électronique ou comme le partenaire de Brian Eno selon de fins experts, il a en réalité toujours été bien plus que cela. Les tempos planants, le maillage complexe des textures et le changement progressif de ses chansons peuvent en effet justifier une telle classification, mais l’esthétique de Hassell ne se réduit pas à celle d’un super producteur qui déplace des samples comme des pièces sur un échiquier.

La raison pour laquelle certaines de ses déclarations déterminantes, pas plus que les classiques des années 80, Fourth World, Flash Of The Spirit et The Surgeon Of The Night Sky Restores Dead Things By The Power Of Sound furent si influentes est qu’elles conservent la forte empreinte d’un compositeur, joueur, arrangeur, ainsi que programmeur. Pour toute la modernité de la musique de Hassell, il existe une base claire dans les traditions non-occidentales, en particulier en Inde, ainsi que l’héritage des aventuriers sonores du jazz, et si vous écoutez l’attention microscopique des détails de « The Inflated Tear » de Rhasaan Roland Kirk, vous comprendrez mieux le parcours tracé par Hassell dans le monde de la multi-phonétique et des polyrythmies.

Cette dernière œuvre est une consolidation fructueuse et une extension de son vocabulaire de marque, avec tout le sentiment profondément évocateur et souvent nostalgique auquel on pourrait s’attendre. Hassell qui fait du Hassell pourrait être problématique, mais il y a suffisamment de nouveautés pour apaiser de telles craintes. Il n’y a pas de complaisance dans le magnifique ronronnement félin de certaines lignes et dans le toboggan aquatique des autres ; les boucles des percussions au tempo doublé sur des accords flottants et transparent ; le timbre de la trompette ressemblant à une flûte – le noyau de ce qu’Arve Henriksen a développé à sa manière. Hassell utilise sa trompette pour jouer des thèmes héraldiques comme s’il annonçait l’arrivée d’un membre révéré de la famille royale, mais la cour est à l’ère numérique où les roturiers ont la liberté de la ville.


Tenez-vous informé.e

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous à la newsletter de Qwest TV pour recevoir les dernières actualités et les bons plans !

* champs requis
Langue(s) *
  • Français
  • English

Parcourir des anciens numéros

Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | Avec le soutien du programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend

Although the veteran American ranks as one of the foremost exponents of ambient electronica, or is also seen as ‘Brian Eno’s brass partner’, according to more glib observers, he has always been much more than that. The hovering tempos, intricate latticing of textures and incremental shifting in his songs may indeed justify such classification but Hassell’s aesthetic is not reducible to that of a super producer who moves samples around like pieces on a chessboard.

The reason why some of his defining statements, none more so than the ‘80s classics Fourth World, Flash Of The Spirit and The Surgeon Of The Night Sky Restores Dead Things By The Power Of Sound have been so influential is because they retain the strong imprint of a composer, player and arranger as well as programmer. For all the audio modernity of Hassell’s music there is a clear basis in non-western traditions, particularly from India, as well as the heritage of the key sound adventurers in jazz, and if you listen to the microscopic attention to detail of Rhasaan Roland Kirk’s ‘The Inflated Tear’, you can better understand the course Hassell plots through the world of multi-phonics and polyrhythms.

This latest work is a fruitful consolidation and extension of his trademark vocabulary, with all of the deeply evocative, often wistful sentiment one would expect. Hassell doing Hassell could potentially be problematic but there are enough surges of newness to allay such fears. There is no complacency in the gorgeously feline purr of some lines and the aquatic slide of others; the double time percussion loops over floating, glassy chords; the distinctively flute-like timbre of the trumpet – the kernel of what Arve Henriksen has grown in his own way. Hassell uses his horn to play heraldic themes as if he were announcing the arrival of a revered Royal, but the court is in the Digital age where commoners have freedom of the city.


Jon Hassell, Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume One)

Keep abreast about the Qwest

Sign up below to the Qwest TV newsletter for the latest Qwest TV news and special discounts!

* indicates required
Language(s) *

Check out some previous newsletters

Download Qwest TV on the AppStoreDownload Qwest TV on Google Play
Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend