Pas moins de 32 musiciens sont déployés dans une myriade de combinaisons sur vingt morceaux, dont certains sont des extraits audio ne dépassant pas 30 secondes. Tout cela fait de ce travail autant une série de scènes qu’un ensemble de pistes. Le spoken word prend une place importante dans les arrangements – beaucoup de paroles sont livrées presque comme des soliloques de tribune, sinon des confessions profondes, dans lesquelles des références poétiques à la chaleur, à la lumière et à l’ombre sont fréquentes.

En voilà un extrait : « There’s a darkness that settles in the palm of her hand/It’s a darkness that knows where I am ». Un tel barbelé évoque vaguement le monde de Le baiser de la femme araignée, un film que le musicien français Wally Badarou avait mémorablement marqué de son empreinte.

Sans conteste sensuelle, la musique de Hanrahan est largement ancrée dans les rythmes afro-cubains denses fournis par ses fidèles collaborateurs, les maîtres congueros Milton Cardona, Richie Flores, Giovanni Hidalgos et Steve Berrios ; mais la contribution de figures stellaires du jazz, de la soul et du rock comme les bassistes Steve Swallow et Fernando Saunders, le guitariste Brandon Ross et les saxophonistes JD Allen et Chico Freeman, garantissent une grande finesse dans la myriade de détails harmoniques tissés autour d’un son à l’essence très dansante.

Hanrahan possède donc une signature qui est immédiatement reconnaissable par quiconque connaît les gloires passées, telles que Desire Develops An Edge ; mais son triomphe artistique réside dans les nouvelles tendances astucieuses qu’il apporte au modèle sans jamais effacer ses marques de distinction. Par exemple, l’éclatement de tambours enflammés mais néanmoins maitrisés qui alimente le mouvement douloureux de « Our Reflection In The Turbulent Heat », une histoire qui nous provoque avec des déclarations sur la façon qu’a le diable de rendre justice.  Un rappel brutal de la capacité de Hanrahan à donner des coups d’adrénaline à sa langueur cinématographique.

Cela dit, la pochette du disque a une ampleur résolument politique. Sur sa partie extérieure, une photo du drone de l’armée de l’air américain déployé en Afghanistan, au Yémen, en Somalie, au Mali, au Pakistan et au Niger. À l’intérieur, l’exécution emblématique du Vietnam.

Le contraste d’une telle horreur avec la beauté de la musique est catégorique mais il y a une congruence profondément enracinée entre les deux parce que, malgré toute l’attention portée à la nostalgie, à l’intimité et aux bégaiement de la vie, il y a la mort menaçante et la crainte sourde de la lune sans rêves. Crescent Moon Waning, une pierre précieuse pour les temps très sombres.


Kip Hanrahan, Crescent Moon Waning (Enja records/Yellow Bird)

Tenez-vous informé.e

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous à la newsletter de Qwest TV pour recevoir les dernières actualités et les bons plans !

* champs requis
Langue(s) *
  • Français
  • English

Parcourir des anciens numéros

Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | Avec le soutien du programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend

There are no fewer than 32 musicians within this myriad of 20 pieces, some of which are snippets of audio that run for no more than 30 seconds. All of which make the work as much a series of scenes as a collection of tracks. There is a strong spoken word element in the arrangements – many lyrics are delivered almost like paraded soliloquies, if not deep confessions, in which poetic references to heat, light and shade are prevalent.

For example: “There’s a darkness that settles in the palm of her hand/ it’s a darkness that knows where I am.” Such tender poetry loosely evokes the world of  the movie Kiss Of The Spider Woman, which was was memorably scored by Wally Badarou.

Unremittingly sensual, Hanrahan’s music is largely anchored in the dense Afro-Cuban rhythms supplied by his stalwart collaborators, the master congueros Milton Cardona, Richie Flores, Giovanni Hidalgos and Steve Berrios. However, the input of stellar figures drawn from jazz, soul and rock, such as bassists Steve Swallow and Fernando Saunders, guitarist Brandon Ross and saxophonists J.D Allen, and Chico Freeman, ensures that there is great finesse in the myriad layers of harmonic detail woven around a highly danceable core sound.

Hanrahan thus has a signature style, which is instantly recognizable to anybody who is familiar with past glories such as Desire Develops An Edge, but his artistic triumph lies in the wily new twists he brings to the model without ever erasing any of its marks of distinction. For example, the burst of fired-up but nonetheless bolted-down hyper time drumming that powers the achingly soulful ‘Our Reflection In The Turbulent Heat’, a tale that provokes us with claims of ‘the devil’s way of making it right’, is an absolutely arresting moment. It is a stark reminder of Hanrahan’s ability to give adrenalin shots to his cinematic languor.

Having said that the artwork has a decidedly political magnitude. On the outer cover there is a photo of the U.S air force reaper drone deployed in Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Mali, Pakistan and Niger. On the inner there is the iconic gun-to-the-head execution of Vietnam.

The contrast of such horror with the beauty of the music is emphatic but there is a deeply rooted congruity between the two, because for all of the focus on nostalgia, intimacy and the stuttering pull of life there is the menacing push of death, the surly dread of the dreamless moon. A gemstone for very dark times.


Kip Hanrahan, Crescent Moon Waning (Enja/Yellow Bird)

Keep abreast about the Qwest

Sign up below to the Qwest TV newsletter for the latest Qwest TV news and special discounts!

* indicates required
Language(s) *

Check out some previous newsletters


Download Qwest TV on the AppStoreDownload Qwest TV on Google Play
Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend