Résidant actuellement à Chicago, le pianiste Stuart Mindeman passe ses premières années de formation à Santiago au Chili. Son expérience du monde et l’influence de son lointain passé pourraient bien se retrouver dans son album Woven Threads, un bouquet coloré aux multiples parfums.

Avec la voix rappée d’Ana Tijoux accompagnée des phrases jazz du saxophone sur « Sin Sentido », les thèmes quasiment déclamés en ballade (« What Word »), ainsi que les inflexions latines des riffs du pianiste et de la voix de Francesca Ancarola sur « Casi, casi » et « La Casa de al Lado », la réunion musicale des Amériques du nord et du sud est assez frappante.

L’enregistrement débuté au Chili s’achève aux Etats-Unis, tant l’album déploie un panel de talents impressionnant venus de plusieurs horizons. De la chanteuse à la voix profonde Francesca Ancarola, au crooner de Chicago Kurt Elling (pour lequel Stu Mindeman tient souvent le piano et arrange des morceaux), à la chanteuse-rappeuse franco-chilienne Ana Tijoux en passant par le saxophoniste portoricain Miguel Zenón, le casting surprenant d’éclectisme à qui Stu Mindeman donne la réplique avec ses envolées pianistiques fait rêver, et le pianiste gère parfaitement ces mélanges assumés.


Stu Mindeman, Woven Threads (Sunnyside Records)

Tenez-vous informé.e

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous à la newsletter de Qwest TV pour recevoir les dernières actualités et les bons plans !

* champs requis
Langue(s) *
  • Français
  • English

Parcourir des anciens numéros

Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | Avec le soutien du programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend

Currently residing in Chicago, the pianist Stuart Mindeman spent his formative years in Santiago, Chile. His worldly travels and the influence of his distant past come together nicely in his album Woven Threads, a colourful, multi-scented bouquet.

With Ana Tijoux’s rap stylings accompanied by the jazz phrases of the saxophone on “Sin Sentido”, the strongly worded but soft-spoken themes of “What Word”, as well as the pairing of Francesca Ancarola’s voice with the latino-inflected piano riffs on “Casi, Casi” and “La Casa de al Lado”, this musical union of North and South America is quite striking.

The recording, beginning in Chile and ending in the United States, features an impressive array of talents with diverse backgrounds. It includes Francesca Ancarola’s deep tones and the voice of chicago crooner, Kurt Elling (both of whom Stu Mindeman supports on the piano and arranges music for), Franco-Chilean rapper/ singer Ana Tijoux and Puerto Rican saxophonist Miguel Zenón. This surprisingly eclectic cast, to which Stu Mindeman playfully retorts with his piano flourishes, become a mix that is perfectly managed by the pianist himself.


Stu Mindeman, Woven Threads (Sunnyside Records)

Keep abreast about the Qwest

Sign up below to the Qwest TV newsletter for the latest Qwest TV news and special discounts!

* indicates required
Language(s) *

Check out some previous newsletters

Download Qwest TV on the AppStoreDownload Qwest TV on Google Play
Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend