Le 1er janvier, l'Institut Thelonious Monk changera de nom à la suite d'une demande formulée par les ayant-droits de Thelonious Monk.

Depuis trente ans, l’institut à but non lucratif a pour objectif de promouvoir le jazz en mettant l’accent sur les politiques publiques, l’éducation musicale et l’appréciation du jazz. Herbie Hancock y occupe le poste de président du conseil d’administration depuis quinze ans. Après un vote unanime, le Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz prendra le nom d’Herbie Hancock après un vote unanime à ce sujet.

Légende vivante, compositeur et virtuose du piano qui a reçu 15 Grammy Awards sera gratifié par ce changement à compter du 1er janvier, à l’occasion d’une « demande des représentants de Thelonious concernant l’utilisation continue de son nom ».

Hancock s’est exprimé à ce sujet : «  C’est un grand honneur pour moi de voir l’Institut prendre mon nom, c‘est un moment fort pour ma famille et pour moi. » Il ajoute qu’il était impatient « d’étendre les initiatives humanitaires et d’éducation au jazz dans le monde entier ». Reste à savoir si les projetes associés à l’institut seront également renommés, par exemple le Concours international de jazz Thelonious Monk.


Tenez-vous informé.e

Abonnez-vous ci-dessous à la newsletter de Qwest TV pour recevoir les dernières actualités et les bons plans !

* champs requis
Langue(s) *
  • Français
  • English

Parcourir des anciens numéros


Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | Avec le soutien du programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend

On January 1st, the Thelonious Monk Institute will change names, following a request put in by the Monk Estate.

The institute, which been operating as a non-profit for the last thirty years, exists to promote jazz through a focus between public policy, music education and jazz appreciation. Herbie Hancock has acted as the board chairman for the last fifteen years and now he will become its namesake, too, after a unanimous vote on the matter.

The iconic bandleader, composer, piano virtuoso, and 14-time Grammy winner will be honored by the change come January 1st, following a “request made by the representatives of the Monk Estate regarding the continued use of Thelonious Monk’s name.”

Hancock’s statement: “Having the Institute named in my honor is tremendously humbling and represents a profound moment for my family and me.” He went on to say that he looks forward to “expanding the organization’s important worldwide jazz education and humanitarian initiatives.”  Whether or not the institute’s associated schemes will also be renamed, for example the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition, remains to be seen.


Keep abreast about the Qwest

Sign up below to the Qwest TV newsletter for the latest Qwest TV news and special discounts!

* indicates required
Language(s) *

Check out some previous newsletters

Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée | With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union With the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Keep on keepin' on !

Quincy Jones and the team will send the best

in jazz and beyond straight to your inbox.

Stick with us!

Don’t leave just yet... 

Send this to a friend